About Us


The Coastal Point is a local newspaper published each Friday and distributed in the Bethany Beach, South Bethany, Fenwick Island, Ocean View, Millville, Dagsboro, Frankford, Selbyville, Millsboro, Long Neck and Georgetown, Delaware areas.

 

The Coastal Point is an independent weekly newspaper founded in 2003 in Ocean View, Del., by a group of local newspaper veterans and investors who sought to provide a true voice and information source for the Delaware beach community.

 

First published Feb. 6, 2004, and every Friday since, the Coastal Point prides itself on in-depth, locally-focused coverage of the events, information and experiences that are important to those who call this area their home, or their home away from home.

 

From the Indian River Inlet south to Fenwick Island, from Bethany Beach west to Georgetown, and everywhere in between, the Coastal Point strives to bring our readers the most accurate, entertaining and informative newspaper publication in the area.

 

Whether you live in Ocean View, Frankford or unincorporated parts of Sussex County, such as Clarksville or Sea Colony, you'll find in the Coastal Point the news that matters in your daily life.

Whether you work in South Bethany or in Selbyville, you'll read about what's happening in this community. Whether you're visiting the shore in Bethany Beach or heading to Millville to shop, you'll discover things you never knew and people you wish you did.

 

Sports fan or "beach potato," artistic visionary or sandcastle aficionado, the Coastal Point brings to our readers the news they count on and the stories that make their day.

 

With an award-winning team of reporters, designers, editors, photographers and columnists, we bring you timely reporting on breaking news, clever and thought-provoking commentary on local happenings and life in general, striking imagery and creative advertising that lets you know what our local businesses have to offer.

 

But that's only part of our team. The other part is you. We at the Coastal Point count on you, our readers, to help keep us informed about what's going on in your lives, to let us know about that special event or your concerns about local government, and to keep us working hard to bring the best we have to offer to you every week, on the page and online.

 

Additionally, the Coastal Point has grown to include a number of other endeavors. Along with our annual “Homeplate” special section each August in honor of the Little League Softball World Series held in Roxana, and our ongoing series of special sections on our local towns, we now have our own app — Explore Coastal Delaware, available in the iTunes store and on Google Play for Android devices, as well as on a mobile-friendly website, at ExploreCoastalDelaware.com — offering information for locals and visitors alike, on the area’s shops, businesses and destinations, as well as some bargains when you shop local.

 

We also know how amazing a beach wedding can be, so we’ve added our own bridal magazine and accompanying website, Delaware Seaside Bride, in print and online at DelawareSeasideBride.com, to help you with planning all the big things and the little details, whether you live here or just want to celebrate one of the best days of your life on the Delaware coast.

 

We're pleased to have been welcomed so warmly and incorporated so thoroughly into your lives, and we hope you'll continue to pick up the Coastal Point each Friday — and read us online. And we hope you will also continue to let us know how we can serve you, our readers, even better in the future.

 

The Coastal Point can be reached at the following contact information:

 

P.O. Box 1324

Ocean View, DE 19970

 

(302) 539-1788

(302) 539-3777 [fax]

 

Publisher: Susan Lyons   susan.lyons@coastalpoint.com

 

Executive Editor: Darin McCann   darin.mccann@coastalpoint.com

 

Managing Editor: M. Patricia Titus   patricia.titus@coastalpoint.com

 

Advertising: Susan Mutz    susan.mutz@coastalpoint.com

                       Jane Meleady   jane.meleady@coastalpoint.com

                      Emily Harne   emily.harne@coastalpoint.com

 

Classifieds/Service Directory/Legals: Jane Johnson   jane.johnson@coastalpoint.com

 

Reporters: Maria Counts   maria.counts@coastalpoint.com

                    Laura Walter   laura.walter@coastalpoint.com

                    Kerin Magill   kerin.magill@coastalpoint.com

                    Jason Feather   jason.feather@coastalpoint.com

 

Technical Director: Shaun Lambert   shaun.lambert@coastalpoint.com

 

Graphic Arts: Matthew Metz   matt.metz@coastalpoint.com

                         Tom Maglio   tom.maglio@coastalpoint.com

 

Photographer: Tyler Valiant   tyler.valiant@coastalpoint.com

 

Advertising Assistant: Jerry Sellman   jerry.sellman@coastalpoint.com