IRSD voters choose school board incumbents

The Indian River School District’s Board of Education will keep the same lineup for 2018 to 2019. Three incumbents kept their seats in the May 8 elections, according to unofficial results from the Delaware Department of Elections’ Sussex County Office.

In District 3, Leolga Wright defeated challenger Dana Probert, 349-92, for a five-year term.

“I thought the voting spoke for itself, and the support that was in all communities spoke volumes … so I’m excited and glad to retain my seat,” said Wright, thanking all the voters.

Wright said she is ready to tackle IRSD’s next five years of challenges: “I’m excited about seeing Howard T. Ennis [School] come full circle and be a new school … and looking forward to how were going to alleviate overcrowding in our district,” which will likely involve renovations and new buildings, she said, adding that she is also “looking forward to new ideas on educating our students and making sure they have viable pathways to move forward in the community.”

Constituents can contact her at District 3 includes south Millsboro and north Dagsboro on both sides of Route 113.

In District 5, Derek Cathell defeated Carla Ziegler, 95-27.

Cathell was just appointed by the board in January to fill a vacancy. With this election, voters approved him to finish the final year of that term. District 5 covers Selbyville, Gumboro and parts of Frankford.

“I’m looking forward to serving on the board for the next year, and I’m excited about what we can get done,” he said.

“The big thing is … continuing with our school safety programs and [ensuring] that they stay in place with the standards we have now,” he said.

Also, regarding the need for building expansions, “I think we’ve got a lot of work ahead of us and decisions to make. I’m eager to hear input from the public and ideas they may have.”

Constituents can contact him at

In District 3, Board Vice President Rodney M. Layfield automatically received a new five-year term, as there were no challengers in District 2 (northern Millsboro and southern Georgetown). Constituents can contact him at

All three terms begin on July 1.

By Laura Walter
Staff Reporter