Town of South Bethany - Solicitation of Candidates

Charter §C-5 Town Council

The South Bethany 2019 Election will be held in at Town Hall, 402 Evergreen Road, South Bethany, Delaware on Saturday, May 25, 2019 from 9am – 3pm.

Four (4) Town Council Members shall be elected. Three seats are a two-year term and one seat is a one-year term. Terms will begin on June 1, 2019.  Applications for Candidacy are available beginning March 11, 2019 and can be filed no later than 4:30 p.m. Wednesday, April 10, 2019.

Applications are available at Town Hall, e-mail or by calling (302) 539-3653.

Charter §C-5 Town Council
B. Qualifications.
[Amended 4-6-2004 by Senate Bill No. 203, Delaware State Senate, 142nd General Assembly]

(1) General qualifications. A candidate for the office of Town Councilmember or Mayor shall be a natural person at least twenty-one (21) years of age, a citizen of the United States, and otherwise qualified to vote at the annual municipal election as provided in §Chapter-6A. No candidate for the office of Town Councilmember or Mayor shall have been convicted of a felony or a crime of moral turpitude.

(2) Resident and nonresident members. At least four of the seven members of the Town Council must be residents of the town, but all may be residents of the town.

(a)Resident members. Any person who, on the date of the filing of  notice of intention to run (or on the date of his/her appointment to fill a vacancy) qualifies as a "resident" of the town {as that term is defined in §C-6A(1)(d)[3] hereof} and certifies his/her intention of remaining a "resident" of the town shall be deemed to be a "resident" Town Council member upon taking office, whether or not such person is also a "freeholder" in the town {as that term is defined in §C-6A(1)(d)[1] hereof}; and if such person subsequently fails to maintain residency in the town, but continues to be a "freeholder" in the town during his/her term of office, that person shall continue to be deemed a "resident" member of the Town Council.

(b)Nonresident members. Any person who, on the date of filing of the notice of intention to run (or on the date of his/her appointment to office in the case of a vacancy) is not a "resident" of the town but is a "freeholder" shall be deemed to be a "nonresident" member of the Town Council. If such "nonresident" member of the Town Council subsequently establishes residency in the town during his/her term of office, that person shall continue to be deemed to be a "nonresident" member of the Town Council; provided, however, that if any "non-resident" member shall, during his/her term of office, cease to be a "freeholder" in the town, that person shall be deemed to have vacated his/her office by reason of that fact, regardless of whether or not that person has also become a "resident" of the town.

Each Councilmember shall continue, throughout his/her term of office, to be either a resident or freeholder as described above.

Sections C-5 and C-6 of the Town Charter may be found at

CP 20190308 1T