DNREC Fish & Wildlife Natural Resources Police this week reminded anglers to purchase their 2019 Delaware fishing licenses. A valid fishing license is required for fishing, crabbing and clamming in Delaware in both tidal and non-tidal waters.
A resident annual fishing license costs $8.50 for anglers ages 16 through 64. Anglers younger than 16 and residents 65 or older are not required to purchase fishing licenses in Delaware. Some requirements differ for non-resident anglers. Exempt anglers may purchase fishing licenses if they so choose to help support fisheries management in Delaware.
Recreational anglers 16 or older fishing Delaware waters also are required to obtain a Delaware Fisherman Information Network (FIN) number, which is generated automatically on all individual fishing licenses sold through Delaware’s electronic licensing system. License-exempt anglers, including Delaware residents 65 or older, non-resident boat fishing license holders who do not have an individual license, and individuals who do not have an individual license fishing on boats covered by a boat fishing license must obtain their free FIN number by visiting www.delaware-fin.com or calling 1-800-432-9228, toll-free.
Delaware fishing licenses are sold online, at the licensing desk in DNREC’s Richardson & Robbins Building, 89 Kings Highway, Dover, and by license agents statewide. To find a participating agent, or to purchase a license online, visit http://www.dnrec.delaware.gov/fw/Services/Pages/Lic-Perm-Reg.aspx. For additional information on Delaware fishing licenses, call (302) 739-9918.
For more information on fishing in Delaware, see the 2019 Delaware Fishing Guide online at http://www.eregulations.com/delaware/fishing/. The guide also is available in printed form at DNREC’s Dover licensing desk and from license agents throughout the state.
Fish & Wildlife Natural Resources Police officers between March 18-24 made 1,037 contacts with hunters, anglers, boaters, and the general public, issuing 48 citations. Officers responded to 34 complaints regarding possible violations of laws and regulations or requests to assist the public.
Citations issued during the week included: five citations for unlicensed recreational fishing, use of net in prohibited area within 300 feet of spillway, 20 citations for possession of river herring during closure, possession of undersize striped bass, two citations for snagging of game fish, two citations for illegal method of take—shad, three citations for illegal commercial gill net marking, no reflector marking on gill net (commercial), loaded firearm in a vehicle, eight citations for trespassing after hours on a state wildlife area, damage state property, dumping solid waste, driving off established roadway in state wildlife area and unregistered motor vehicle.