New administrators welcomed at IR school district

Date Published: 
August 26, 2016

Every school year brings new faces to the classroom, and the Indian River School District has a handful of new administrators leading local education for the 2016-2017 school year.

Indian River High School is welcoming two new assistant principals, Chad Moletress and Laretha Payton, who filled vacancies left by Corey Heacock and Justin Miller.

Long Neck Elementary has added a second assistant principal position with Christopher Costello.

North Georgetown Elementary School’s Jessica Helmick replaces former assistant principal Michelle Allman.

Judith Brittingham has stepped up to the district office as supervisor of special education, after the retirement of Carol M. Marcellus. Brittingham comes from the G.W. Carver Educational Center, where Charlynne “Char” Hopkins will become acting director.

Jeffrey Forjan has become assistant principal at Selbyville Middle School, filling the vacancy after Melissa Kansak left to become IRSD supervisor of accountability.

Former Director of Accountability Jay Owens has become director of special services. Meanwhile, the district bade farewell to Belinda Waples, who retired as director of special education.

The school year begins on Tuesday, Sept. 6, for students. Families can contact their individual schools for more information regarding teachers and staff.

Details are online at or can be found by contacting the Indian River Educational Complex at (302) 436-1000, or 31 Hosier Street, Selbyville.